Why You Should Go Greek

https://randymacintervarsity.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/keep-calm-and-go-greek-23.png

Before college I had a negative connotation about going Greek. My brother was three years older than me and he wanted nothing to do with the Greek life. Little did he know that going Greek was the best decision I have made in college. People in the Greek community may back up my statement but others outside the Greek life might think I am crazy.

The first stereotype I had about joining a fraternity is that I would be paying for my friends. This is not true, the people in my fraternity would do anything for me and I would do anything for them. This is a brotherhood just like any other club or group of friends. Joining a fraternity isn’t any different than joining a University, the military, or a group, like the Free Masons. You pay to go to a University to better your life to help you succeed, you join the military so you and the people around you can have a better life and can succeed, you join the Free Masons because you want to have a better life and you want to succeed. So why do you think that people who join a fraternity just do it to make friends? I joined a fraternity so I could have a better life and I could succeed. This blog is not meant to persuade you to go Greek, but to inform you of my decision to go Greek. Through out this blog I will explain to you the reason why I chose to go Greek and the experiences I had that have backed up my decision.

The first reason I joined a fraternity was networking. This may sound bad, but from a business perspective, networking is everything. Once I knew I wanted to major in business I started looking into resources that could help me out. I saw that fraternities had a connection with people in the community. When I started college freshman year of 2010 I only knew some people in my classes that I reached out to and the others were people I went to high school with. Once I joined a fraternity it felt like I knew everyone. I always had a resource if I wanted to learn more about an organization on campus or a business in the community. When you sign up for Greek life, not only do you know people in your fraternity or sorority but you know people throughout Greek life.

Another reason I joined my fraternity is because of their values. Every person I met that was in the fraternity I joined wanted to better themselves. They wanted to have a bright future, whether it was helping the people in their community, or making lots of money. My fraternity has values that people should inherently know, but its nice having a system that checks those values and are there for you if you screw one of those values up. I am not going to tell you what fraternity I joined because It shouldn’t matter. Most people in the Greek community have a set of values and they are not put in place to hurt you, only help you.

The last reason I joined a fraternity was to stay active within the University. When you join Greek life you have to maintain a connection within in the University in order to help establish the name of your Greek chapter. This has a positive effect because knowing people within your University will only help you succeed. There is a lot to college and the more people you know the faster you will learn the insides and outs of the University. You will learn that most things in college that you participate in can add more to your resume, and a better resume equals a better paying job.

Like I said earlier, I am not here to persuade you to go Greek I am only informing you of some reasons to go Greek. If you want to take the time to look up some statistics on Google about fraternities or sororities you might be amazed. Joining Greek life was the best decision I made in college, and only the people who are Greek know why I am writing this blog.

One thought on “Why You Should Go Greek

Leave a comment